Crochet

Charity Case

2 years ago I posted about crochet for charity here. Well, it’s that time again! Red Nose Day happens in the UK every 2 years and as a group of ex-pats, we organised a cake sale at work for the good cause.

For the cake sale I made up some red velvet cupcakes with red frosting. I had intended to pipe some icing nicely on top but I had a last minute piping bag crisis! So I had to compromise and just spread the frosting on top. Hmpf. Especially as I found the perfect icing for piping here. So they’re not as attractive as I might have hoped but, hey, they sold out!

IMG_1856[1]

I also made up some coasters to sell. I saw this really sweet coaster pattern on my friend Amandine’s blog and went and found it on Ravelry.

IMG_1858[1]They work up really quickly in a spiral with a cute picot edge and the spiral surface stitches are added at the end. The designer also gives instructions to make them potholder size which would be really cute. They’d also look great in different colours as a kind of “mismatched” set – the possibilities are endless!

IMG_1857[1]

I think this little red matching set looks nice but more importantly, it felt good to do something for a good cause

Bon weekend!

signature

Leave a Reply

