Knitting / Tricot

And that’s a wrap!

It has to be said, scarves are THE first project for any knitter. You cast on, you knit, maybe you’ll attempt a purl, and then you cast off. If you’re anything like me, you probably end up with more or less stitches than you did at the cast-on and wonder how on earth you could have acquired or lost stitches when you were just knitting in a straight line!! Ah, welcome to the world of accidental increases/decreases, a compulsory stop-over for any novice knitter on their maiden voyage. It’s a bit like the “Go” square in Monopoly but without the £100 … However, there is hope! I have recently revisited the scarf and, with my newly-acquired more advanced knitting knowledge, it’s fun territory to step back onto.

Scarves are a must for anyone living in or coming to Northern Europe. Tickets? Passport? Scarf? You’ll be needing one! With the temperatures barely edging above zero these past weeks, my scarf is ever my firm friend. These past months, I have been working on these little projects:

image
Moebius Basketweave Cowl

My Moebius Basketweave cowl made with chunky yarn and the fattest needles my little hands could manage. This was good fun to knit and quick too. It was knit straight and then the twist was seamed into it. Here are all the ravelicious details.

I made a shorter version for Lisa which I featured in my post For the kids.

image
Saroyan

Next up we have Saroyan complete with lace edging. Ordinarily just the mention of knitting lace would have me breaking out in a cold sweat but this is a fantastic first lace project. It’s knit with size 5mm needles and aran or worsted weight wool which make the stitches nice and big. The lace edging is just that – edging. The rest is good ol’ stockinette with increases and decreases at certain points to give the scarf its shape.

I came to realise while I was knitting this that lace knitting is just a combination of stitches that I already know! I can yarn-over and knit-front-back and that’s not scary! I think it’s more the potential for going wrong that put me off but this was easily remedied by proactive lifelines: at the end of each 14-row repeat, I threaded sock yarn through the loops on my needles and just carried on knowing that, in the worst case scenario, I wouldn’t have to rip back any further than 14 rows. Embrace the lifeline !

Brioche stitch
Brioche stitch

Of course, we also have the yummy brioche stitch scarf which, due to forces that I cannot control (like discontinued wool), I have made two-tone! I plan to continue knitting with half of the black and then use the other half to pick up stitches on the cast-on edge and knit in the other direction. Have Christophe’s go-ahead and he is the ultimate beneficiary of said scarf🙂

The beginnings of a spiral scarf!
The beginnings of a spiral scarf!

Next in line is the spiral scarf which I was dying to start and have done so even though I still have another project on the go … a slap on the wrist for me!

In the future I will really have to put off my trip to the wool-shop until I am ready to start the project because otherwise I just want the wool on the needles straight away! This project is a present so I don’t want to give away too much🙂 Loving the way the wraps and turns give it its shape.

Itty bitty scarf
Itty bitty scarf

Here is a little glance at a mini scarf that I’m doing but ssshh, it’s a secret! I think I’ll rename it the “snail-pace scarf” tho cos it’s taking me FOREVER! More details in the weeks to come🙂

So what my little recent trip down neck-wear lane has told me is that scarves can be as advanced or as simple as you like. Yes, they make a fab first project but you can come back to them again and again just for something different or just to review the basics …

Bon weekend!

3 thoughts on “And that’s a wrap!

    1. It can only get better! I was terrible for it but now I’m getting the hang of regular stitches and avoiding the beginner mistakes. You will get there, good luck!

Leave a Reply

