Knitting / Tricot

F is the new G!

TFI Friday!

This weekend I will be mostly asking for the snow to thaw (but at -3, that’s not likely!), for Alex to go to sleep at a reasonable time without acting up (but at 2 and a half, that’s not likely!) and for some time to catch up on everything I was supposed to do this week but didn’t which, so far, is the single, most likely achievement I will make.

Tomorrow morning I will kick off the weekend with my first knitting group! Bit nervous as I don’t know if I can knit in French … “Maille à l’endroit, maille à l’envers” just doesn’t have the same ring to it as “knit 1, purl 1″… I plan to take along some of my creations that I’m finishing off although, knowing my luck, one of them would have been featured in “Vogue Knitting” and I’ll feel like royal poo (or “presidential poo” to be more precise, this is a republic after all).

mittensAs promised, I have dug out some pics of old knits🙂 Here are Lisa’s finglerless mittens, my first “beyond the rectangle” project! The wool is multicoloured which means I get the stripes without having to do (inevitably messy) colour changes! One thing at a time …

20130125-190143.jpgThis scarf was my very first solo knit project back in 2005, very cute yarn! I was proud as punch when I bound this one off – first knitting project where my grandma didn’t cast-onand off for me!!

imageThis last one made me roar with laughter!! When I finished it, I actually thought I’d done a good job! Now that I’m a bit more experienced, I can tell you that I did not!! The needle size is all wrong for the weight of yarn and the pompom weighed the hat down so much that Lisa (the unsuspecting victim that this was made for) had to wear it like a rasta hat!! She wore if once just to please me, bless her little soul🙂

In the words of Yaz, the only way is up …

Have a good weekend!

One thought on “F is the new G!

Leave a Reply

